Brookes claims first BSB pole position of 2015

Josh Brookes (photo by BSB)Josh Brookes claimed his first pole position of the 2015 MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship season in style at Oulton Park today (Sunday),

lapping under his own circuit record to out-gun Tommy Bridewell to the top spot by just 0.014 seconds.

The pole position marked the first in MCE BSB for the new Milwaukee Yamaha YZF-R1 and Brookes held off the late challenges from both Bridewell, who scored Tyco BMW their first front row start of the season, and Stuart Easton on the PBM Kawasaki.

Easton had saved his best lap until the final minute of Q3, which pushed triple champion Ryuichi Kiyonari back onto the third row for the Buildbase BMW team.

Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne set the fifth best time of the session on the second PBM Kawasaki as he bids to increase his six point advantage over JG Speedfit Kawasaki’s James Ellison who has won three of the four races so far and qualified in sixth place.

Jason O’Halloran had a huge moment on his fast lap, almost crashing the Honda Racing Fireblade, but managed to save it and hold seventh on the timesheets to head the third row ahead of Tyco BMW’s Michael Laverty. Danny Buchan riding the Be Wiser Kawasaki and Billy McConnell completes top ten qualifiers on the Smiths BMW

Datatag Qualifying:
1: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 1m 34.946s
2: Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW) +0.014s
3: Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki) +0.060s
4: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +0.209s
5: Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +0.237s
6: James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.449s

Like it? Share it!

FacebookMySpaceTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponGoogle BookmarksNewsvineLinkedinRSS Feed

Motorsport Latest

Charlie Martin completes private LMP3 test in France

British racer Charlie Martin completed her first LMP3 test at Chambley in France yesterday in a private session with Racing Experience.


Chloe Hewitts Silverstone Mini Challenge weekend

Due to the current restricted race budget while new sponsorship is being sourced unfortunately no testing was conducted this weekend however we arrived at Silverstone on Friday 22nd June none the less and watched other competitors progress then in the evening Chloe completed a walking lap of the track to familiarise herself.