BSB wins for Easton and Bridewell at Oulton Park

Track action (photo by BSB)Tommy Bridewell and Stuart Easton shared the victories in a dramatic, incident-packed third round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship at Oulton Park

in which Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne crashed out of contention in race two, handing the series lead to James Ellison.

Bridewell led the opening race at the Cheshire circuit, fending off the fierce challenge from Josh Brookes by 0.160s to celebrate the Tyco BMW team’s first victory. Byrne had completed the podium in the opening race as he briefly extended his lead in the standings.

The second race produced high drama as Ryuichi Kiyonari led the race, eager to make amends for a fifth place in the opening race for the Buildbase BMW team. Bridewell was pushing to take the advantage before he crashed his Tyco BMW, ending his hopes of a repeat winning performance.

Kiyonari and Byrne then had been battling intensely for the lead as the two title-winners diced furiously for the second victory of the day, but with just over two laps to go Kiyonari clipped the back of the PBM Kawasaki at Hizzys Chicane and the pair crashed out of contention.

The champions crashing out left a three-way scrap for the win between Stuart Easton, Ellison and Brookes. The Scottish PBM Kawasaki rider held off Ellison on the final dash to the finish to score his first victory since 2010 by 0.161s.

Michael Laverty enjoyed his best result of the season so far in fourth place on the Tyco BMW ahead of Honda Racing’s Jason O’Halloran and Howie Mainwaring on the Quattro Plant Bournemouth Kawasaki.


Race one:
1: Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW)
2: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.160s
3: Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +2.539s
4: Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki) +3.742s
5: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +4.656s
6: James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +14.493s

Race two:
1: Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki)
2: James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.161s
3: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.232s
4: Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) +12.102s
5: Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) +12.306s
6: Howie Mainwaring (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +20.377s

Championship standings:
1: James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) 109
2: Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki)101
3: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 94
4: Stuart Easton (PBM Kawasaki) 80
5: Tommy Bridewell (Tyco BMW) 53
6: Jason O'Halloran (Honda Racing) 42

Like it? Share it!

FacebookMySpaceTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponGoogle BookmarksNewsvineLinkedinRSS Feed

Motorsport Latest

Shanel Drewe tests as TCR UK makes its debut at Brands Hatch

The first ever organised test session for the new UK TCR series took place at Brands Hatch in Kent last week with Clio Road Sport runner up Shanel Drewe being the only female driver present testing a car.


Britcar Finale - RAW Power Wins but MJC Furlonger take the title

After threatening a win for several races, the RAW Motorsport Radical RXC of Rob Wheldon and Stefano Leaney finally tasted victory in the crisp Kentish darkness,