Goff lines up to pass Ingram but theyve already pulled away from the pack (Photo by Marc Waller)Jack Goff won race two at the Silverstone BTCC meeting as the race one positions were reversed with Speedworks driver Tom Ingram in second.

Ash Sutton controversially pushed Turkington off to gain third on the final lap but was then penalised after the race, losing the place and he was also sent to the back for the final race of the day as the incident was his third strike. This gave Turkington third place although without the podium celebrations.

The battle at the front however, was nice and clean. Ingram took the early lead with a good start but Goff made a move at the Beckett’s hairpin on lap three and after that was never headed. The Eurotech Honda Civic driver was pleased to score only his second ever win;

“The second one took a little while to come,” said Goff. “It’s been over two years now! It’s for all the Eurotech guys – we’ve had a tough time with Jeff’s [Smith – team boss] accident and it’s for all our sponsors too. I watched some old footage of Andy [Jordan] and Jason [Plato] back and I saw that at turn one we might get a bit of help with the softer compound tyre. The car was fantastic. It’s usually pretty good but performance over the race distance is sometimes our downfall. It was great there though even with ballast. The first NGTC pole for a Honda here and a first win for Jeff as team boss. Brilliant!”

Ingram actually was caught by the rest of the pack in the closing stages but did enough to hang on to second.

“With 75kgs [ballast] on a hard tyre it was never going to be a fantastic combination, so to come away second just behind Jack [Goff], I’m made up with it,” confirmed Ingram. “I was fully aware of those guys just behind me and I felt I was struggling from lap eight or so. Colin [Turkington] was on the same tyre as us and I knew we’d be fairly comparable and Ash was working his way through so it was only a matter of time really.”

Adam Morgan had held third from the start but later on Turkington and Sutton came past to then have their last lap incident. Sutton had tried to pass down the inside into luffield but there was no room and the result was Turkington being forced out the way.

Sutton, speaking before receiving his penalty had been happy with the move;

“Got to save the best ‘til last as they say! It’s great to be back on the podium at our weakest track, so we’re pleased with that one. It was one of those calculated risks. I made a clean move around the outside into Brooklands and I got pushed off the track. I can’t just disappear, and I was more than a car-length alongside. Sometimes you have to accept you’ve lost a battle. It could be really important at the end of the season – you have to take those risks sometimes.”

In the end the stewards didn’t agree with him and he received a penalty to move him back behind the WSR BMW driver.

Austin and Morgan had a tough battle for fifth and the two also made contact but it was not judged to need investigating. This left Austin in fifth ahead of Morgan in sixth.

Shedden kept his slim title chance alive with seventh ahead of WTCC star Rob Huff. Huff, who is deputising for Tom Chilton as he recovers from surgery, looked strong in the Powermaxed Vauxhall Astra. The place gives him second on the race three grid just behind ninth placed Dave Newsham who gets the reverse grid pole.

Mike Epps was tenth for Team Hard, his second top ten of the day.

Goff was all on his own by the end (Photo by Marc Waller) Ingram was fast but not as fast as Goff (Photo by Marc Waller) Goff also took the independents victory (Photo by Marc Waller) The intial top three before Sutton recieved his penalty (Photo by Marc Waller) Ingram was second this time (Photo by Marc Waller)




2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Round 26 – Silverstone
1 Jack GOFF (GBR) Eurotech Racing 22 laps
2 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +4.910s
3 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +5.528s* Later penalised and moved to fourth with a time penalty.
4 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +5.703s
5 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +7.749s
6 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +8.438s
7 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +8.680s
8 Rob HUFF (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +9.038s
9 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +9.260s
10 Michael EPPS (GBR) TAG Racing +9.547s
11 Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +10.942s
12 Brett SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +11.707s
13 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +11.815s
14 Aron TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +15.096s
15 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +15.149s
16 Josh PRICE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +16.436s
17 Jake HILL (GBR) TAG Racing +17.303s
18 Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +17.688s
19 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +18.015s
20 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +18.017s
21 James COLE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +18.418s
22 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +19.902s
23 Ant WHORTON-EALES (GBR) AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts +21.607s
24 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +22.048s
25 Stewart LINES (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +22.302s
26 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +22.586s
27 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +1 lap
NC Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts +5 laps
DNF Mat JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +16 laps
DNF Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +16 laps By Marc Waller

FacebookMySpaceTwitterDiggDeliciousStumbleuponGoogle BookmarksNewsvineLinkedinRSS Feed