BTCC – Oulton Park round-up

BTCC Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller) Cheshire’s Oulton Park was blessed with sunshine as the Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship swung into town after a five week break.

Qualifying was dominated by KX Momentum Racing, whose drivers Jason Plato and Sam Tordoff locked out the front row of the grid in their MG6s – the first team 1-2 for MG since their return to the championship.

All three races provided superb action across the field – providing the fans with much entertainment as the day went on.

Here is your review of each race;

Race One:
BTCC Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller) BTCC Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller) BTCC Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller) Jason Plato took the win during the first race of the day at Oulton Park, upping his victory tally to eight at the circuit – more than any other driver on the grid. The MG’s continued their domination during the fifteen laps, with Sam Tordoff maintaining his starting position to finish in second ahead of Honda Racing driver Gordon Shedden.

Andrew Jordan brought his Pirtek Racing Honda home in fourth place ahead of a chasing Colin Turkington, despite smoke bellowing from the rear.
After a disappointing qualifying session, Honda Racing’s Matt Neal overcame his on board maximum ballast to finish sixth, with Mat Jackson following behind in what was his 100th race with the Motorbase team.

Dave Newsham was disappointed to cross the line in eighth, after qualifying in fourth and maintaining a strong position. Contact with Colin Turkington – despite the pair continuing on track – resulted in Newsham’s Speedworks’ Toyota struggling to keep up.

Liam Griffin took the Jack Sears Trophy win on track; however the stewards issued a one second time penalty after making contact with Lea Wood on the final lap and gaining an advantage, awarding to win to Wood.

Race Two:
The second race of the day saw Jason Plato take his fourth win of the season at Oulton Park. Team mate Sam Tordoff couldn’t hang on to his first race performance as soft tyre deterioration and contact with Airwaves’ Mat Jackson late on in the race saw him limp across the line with suspension damage in twenty-first.

Gordon Shedden and Colin Turkington were a close second and third respectively after a feisty battle on track.

BTCC Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller) BTCC Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller) BTCC Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller) BTCC Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller) The safety car was brought out on track in the early stages in order for marshals to clear the pit-in area, as both Jack Goff and Rob Collard retired on track. The Team HARD. run RCIB Insurance Racing Insignia had engine damage, whilst Rob Collard had damage at the rear after coming together with team mate Nick Foster at Island Bend during the opening laps.

Dan Welch claimed his best season result of ninth, whilst Lea Wood demonstrated why he loves the Oulton Park track to take his fifth Jack Sears win of the year.

Aaron Mason, who made his BTCC debut at Oulton Park with AmD Tuning in James Kaye’s absence, had to pull off on the circuit during the race with engine issues, which ultimately ended his weekend.

Race Three:
Andrew Jordan came through after his earlier issues to take the third and final win of the day ahead of Colin Turkington in the eBay Motors BMW and Adam Morgan – achieving his first podium in his touring car career.

Despite starting the race from pole position thanks to the reverse draw grid, Jeff Smith ended the race in nineteenth after a couple of on track incidents.

Jason Plato was unable to maintain his Oulton Park domination, whilst out on track, the KX Momentum Racing MG started smoking with spits of flame coming from the front tyre arch, resulting in retirement in the pit lane.

Next on the calendar for the British Touring Car Championship is Croft Circuit on the 22nd/23rd June. Matt Neal tops the standings with a close battle ensuing for the second place spot between Andrew Jordan and Jason Plato. Jordan is also currently holding the lead in the Independent’s standings, with Adam Morgan sitting in second ahead of Colin Turkington. by Nikki Thompson

Written by