BTCC Silverstone – Gordon Shedden triumphs to final victory

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)After a disastrous start to his weekend, Gordon Shedden has taken the win during the third and final Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the day at Silverstone.

Having taken the lead from eBay Motors’ Colin Turkington after the restart from the safety car – which came out on track to remove some debris midway through – Shedden held on to the lead to take the chequered flag.

Aron Smith continued his successful weekend for Airwaves Racing, bringing the NGTC Focus home in second place, whilst team mate Mat Jackson finished fourth. The second Honda Yuasa Civic of Matt Neal crossed the line to take third.

Colin Turkington ran well throughout the race, and after having been passed by Neal for third, had suspension failure forcing him to retire from the race with just a handful of laps remaining.

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)Andrew Jordan did well to battle with the drivers on the soft tyres to finish his race in fifth ahead of Dave Newsham who fought hard with Jason Plato and Adam Morgan throughout the latter stages of the race. 

Jack Goff, who’s been quick all weekend in the Team HARD RCIB Insurance Racing Insignia and Dan Welch rounded out the top ten for the final race.

Sam Tordoff recovered from an early spin after contact with Matt Neal to finish in fourteenth ahead of Howard Fuller and Warren Scott – who started his race from the pit lane.

With a non-start for Liam Griffin, it was Lea Wood who took another hat-trick of Jack Sears wins at Silverstone, further extending his S2000 championship points haul over his rivals.

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)In the standings, Andrew Jordan remains in the lead going into the final round of 2013, with Matt Neal 34 points behind. Gordon Shedden is one point behind his team mate in third, with Colin Turkington clinging on to fourth 48 points behind Jordan. Jason Plato still sits in fifth albeit 49 points down from the leader.

The scene is set for the 2013 finale at Brands Hatch, starting on Saturday 12th October. Who will be crowned champion?

Race Classification:
1) Gordon Shedden
2) Aron Smith
3) Matt Neal
4) Mat Jackson
5) Andrew Jordan
6) Dave Newsham
7) Jason Plato
8) Adam Morgan
9) Jack Goff
10) Dan Welch
11) Nick Foster
12) Rob Collard
13) Tom Onslow-Cole
14) Sam Tordoff
15) Howard Fuller
Fastest Lap: Adam Morgan – Lap 7 – 58.876       By Nikki Thompson – Photos by Marc Waller

Written by