WEC Spa Qualifying

WEC Spa Qualifying (Photo by Melissa Warren)

Kobayashi on pole for Toyota Gazoo Racing at WEC Spa with United Autosports on top in LMP2 and ORT by TF Sport take LMGTE pole

Qualifying news

Hypercar: Pole – No.7 Toyota Gazoo Racing 

  • Antonio Giovinazzi in No.51 Ferrari AF Corse 499P had taken brilliant pole position with pole lap of 2m00.77s 
  • Giovinazzi survived spin at La Source midway through the session to take second pole for Ferrari this season. 
  • No.7 Toyota Gazoo Racing entry driven by Kamui Kobayashi inherits pole with a 2m00.812s lap after Giovinazzi penalty for track limit violation at T7. 
  • Giovinazzi slips to third behind No.50 Ferrari AF Corse driven by Miguel Molina places second. 
  • No.2 Cadillac V-Series.R entry driven by Earl Bamber is fourth ahead of sister No.3 Cadillac qualified by Sebastien Bourdais 
  • Sixth is the No.6 Porsche Penske 963 driven by Kevin Estre. 
  • Hertz Team Jota Porsche 963 with Will Stevens aboard sets seventh best time on WEC debut for gold car. 
  • Oliver Pla in Glickenhaus Racing place grabs eighth and is best placed non-Hybrid Hypercar. 
  • The No.93 Peugeot 9X8 of Jean-Eric Vergne qualifies in ninth ahead of the No.5 Porsche 963 Hypercar of Frederic Makowiecki. 
  • No.94 Peugeot 9X8 Hypercar with Gustavo Menezes is 11th ahead of the Floyd Vanwall entry driven by Tom Dillmann in 12th 
  • No.8 Toyota GR010 does not post a time as Brendon Hartley crashes at Raidillon on preparation lap. 
  • Points leaders will now have to start from rear of Hypercar grid for TotalEnergies 6 Hours of Spa.

LMP2: Pole – No.23 United Autosports 

  • No.23 United Autosports claims pole position as returning Tom Blomqvist stars with a rapid 2m05.979s best. 
  • British driver is yet to drive in a race this season after Sebring retirement and missing Portimao for IMSA race. 
  • Second on grid will be the No.41 WRT Oreca-Gibson as Louis Deletraz gets to within 0.3s of Blomqvist’s ultimate pace. 
  • Prema Racing third with No.63 car with Daniil Kvyat setting time. 
  • No.31 WRT starts fourth as Robin Frijns qualifies in car that won last year’s LMP2 race at Spa.  
  • Jota fifth with Pietro Fittipaldi peaking on a 2m06.556s in gold liveried car. 
  • No.9 Prema completes top six as Bent Viscaal qualifies Italian entered Oreca-Gibson. 

LMGTE Am: Pole – No.25 ORT by TF Sport 

  • Ahmad Al Harthy in ORT by TF Aston Martin claims a sensational first pole position with a scorching 2m17.216s 
  • Omani driver is a massive 1.9s faster than second placed Iron Dames Porsche driven by local ace Sarah Bovy. 
  • Ryan Hardwick completes best qualifying of the season for the No.88 Dempsey Proton Porsche 911 RSR-19 with third position on the LMGTE Am grid. 
  • Points leading No.33 Corvette Racing will start fourth as Ben Keating qualifies car. 
  • Luis Perez Companc places fifth for the Richard Mille AF Corse Ferrari in solid result after two practice accidents for the No.83 car. 
  • No.98 Northwest AMR entry rounds out top six as Ian James sets time in re-jigged crew. 
  • Session red flagged after PJ Hyett in Project 1-AO Porsche 911 RSR-19 crashes at Raidillon. US driver emerges unscathed. 

Qualifying results

CONWAY / K. KOBAYASHI / J. LOPEZ: Toyota Gazoo RacingHYPERCARH2:00.8360.0240.0242502:00.836A.

FUOCO / M. MOLINA / N. NIELSEN: Ferrari AF CorseHYPERCARH2:00.9730.1610.1373512:00.973A.

PIER GUIDI / J. CALADO / A. GIOVINAZZI: Ferrari AF CorseHYPERCARH2:01.0430.2310.070422:01.043E.

BAMBER / A. LYNN / R. WESTBROOK: Cadillac RacingHYPERCARH2:02.1381.3261.095532:02.138S.

BOURDAIS / R. VAN DER ZANDE / J. AITKEN: Cadillac RacingHYPERCARH2:02.3061.4940.168662:02.306K.

ESTRE / A. LOTTERER / L. VANTHOOR: Porsche Penske MotorsportHYPERCARH2:02.9072.0950.6017382:02.907A.

DA COSTA / W. STEVENS / Y. YE: Hertz Team JOTAHYPERCARH2:02.9602.1480.0538  7082:02.960R.

DUMAS / O. PLA / F. MAILLEUX: Glickenhaus RacingHYPERCAR2:03.2172.4050.2579932:03.217P.

DI RESTA / M. JENSEN / J. VERGNE: Peugeot TotalEnergiesHYPERCARH2:03.6502.8380.4331052:03.650D.

CAMERON / M. CHRISTENSEN / F. MAKOWIECKI: Porsche Penske Motorsport HYPERCARH 2:03.8793.0670. 22911942:03.879L.

DUVAL / G. MENEZES / N. MÜLLER: Peugeot TotalEnergiesHYPERCARH2:04.6143.8020.7351242:04.614T.

DILLMANN / E. GUERRIERI / J. VILLENEUVE: Floyd Vanwall Racing Team HYPERCAR 2:05.9795.1671. 36513232:05.979J.

PIERSON / T. BLOMQVIST / O. JARVIS: United AutosportsLMP22:06.3185.5060.33914412:06.318R.

ANDRADE / R. KUBICA / L. DELÉTRAZ: Team WRTLMP22:06.5065.6940.18815632:06.506D.

PIN / M. BORTOLOTTI / D. KVYAT: Prema RacingLMP22:06.5325.7200.02616312:06.532S.

GELAEL / F. HABSBURG / R. FRIJNS: Team WRTLMP22:06.5565.7440.02417282:06.556D.


UGRAN / B. VISCAAL / A. CALDARELLI: Prema RacingLMP22:06.6845.8720.08319222:06.684F.

LUBIN / P. HANSON / F. ALBUQUERQUE: United AutosportsLMP22:06.8256.0130.14120342:06.825J.

SMIECHOWSKI / F. SCHERER / A. COST: AInter Europol CompetitionLMP22:07.0356.2230.21021102:07.035R.

CULLEN / M. KAISER / G. AUBRY: Vector SportLMP22:07.0996.2870.06422352:07.099A.

NEGRÃO / M. ROJAS / O. CALDWELL: Alpine Elf TeamLMP22:07.1576.3450.05823362:07.157M.

VAXIVIERE / J. CANAL / C. MILESI: Alpine Elf TeamLMP22:17.21616.40410.05924252:17.216A.

AL HARTHY / M. DINAN / C. EASTWOODORT by TFLMGTE Am2:19.15018.3381.93425852:19.150S.

BOVY / M. GATTING / R. FREY: Iron DamesLMGTE Am2:19.48118.6690.33126882:19.481R.

HARDWICK / Z. ROBICHON / H. TINCKNELL: Proton CompetitionLMGTE Am2:19.50618.6940.02527332:19.506B.

KEATING / N. VARRONE / N. CATSBURG: Corvette RacingLMGTE Am2:19.72318.9110.21728832:19.723L.

PEREZ COMPANC / L. WADOUX / A. ROVERA: Richard Mille AF CorseLMGTE Am2:19.97619.1640.25329982:19.976I.

JAMES / D. MANCINELLI / A. RIBERAS: Northwest AMRLMGTE Am2:20.38219.5700.40630542:20.382T.

FLOHR / F. CASTELLACCI / D. RIGONAF CorseLMGTE Am2:20.50719.6950.125317772:20.507S.

HOSHINO / C. STEVENSON / T. FUJIID: Station RacingLMGTE Am2:20.51519.7030.00832572:20.515T.

KIMURA / S. HUFFAKER / D. SERRA: Kessel RacingLMGTE Am2:21.24720.4350.73233772:21.247C.

RIED / M. PEDERSEN / J. ANDLAUER: Dempsey – Proton RacingLMGTE Am2:22.46921.6571.22234862:22.469M.

WAINWRIGHT / R. PERA / B. BARKERGR RacingLMGTE Am2:23.09722.2850.62835602:23.097C.



ALESSI / S. MANN / U. DE PAUWAF CorseLMGTE Am By Melissa Warren

Written by