Turkington takes BTCC race one win at Knockhill

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)Colin Turkington won race one at Knockhill after passing pole sitter Rob Austin early on in the race.

Gordon Shedden also managed to pass Rob for second but the Wix Racing driver held onto third for his second podium of the year. Rob Collard had an excellent race moving up to sixth place. Jason Plato could only manage fourth in a weekend where the KX Momentum MG driver said he needed to win.

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)Paul O’Neil had a torrid race eventually being punted off by Nick Foster into the tyre wall. The car was badly damaged and then further damaged while being recovered to the pits meaning the popular driver will not start race two. Aiden Moffat finished his first ever touring car race in 21st ahead of fellow newcomer Kieran Gallagher in 22nd and last of the finishers.

Full report to follow on Girlracer.  by Marc Waller

1 Colin Turkington (eBay Motors) 27 Laps
2 Gordon Shedden (Honda Yuasa Racing) +3.452
3 Rob Austin (WIX Racing) +4.229
4 Adam Morgan (Ciceley Racing) +4.864
5 Jason Plato (MG KX Momentum Racing) +4.867
6 Robert Collard (eBay Motors) +7.939
7 Matt Neal (Honda Yuasa Racing) +11.386
8 Andrew Jordan (Pirtek Racing) +11.510
9 Sam Tordoff (MG KX Momentum Racing) +15.183
10 Aron Smith (Airwaves Racing) +17.975
11 Dave Newsham (Speedworks Motorsport) +18.300
12 Mat Jackson (Airwaves Racing) +20.125
13 Tom Onslow-Cole (PPCGB/Kraftwerk Racing) +20.631
14 Frank Wrathall (Dynojet) +23.044
15 Ollie Jackson (Speedworks Motorsport) +24.715
16 Nick Foster (eBay Motors) +25.233
17 Liam Griffin (Addison Lee Motorbase) +36.607
18 Mike Bushell (Team Club 44) +36.846
19 Lea Wood (Wheel Heaven/Houseman Racing) +37.428
20 Will Bratt (Rob Austing Racing) +1 Lap
21 Aiden Moffat (Finesse Motorsport) +1 Lap
22 Kieran Gallagher (RCIB Insurance Racing) +2 Laps

Written by