BTCC Finale – Free Practice two Brands Hatch

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)Andrew Jordan set the quickest time on a now dry track in the final free practice session of the 2013 season.


The session was halted with only eleven minutes on the clock after Aron Smith suffered a big crash at Druids having been avoiding Frank Wrathall and Ollie Jackson who were both returning to the circuit.

There was a lengthy red flag period whilst marshals recovered the badly damaged Airwaves Focus and did repair work to the Armco barriers which had also suffered in the incident.

Smith was taken to the medical centre to be checked over and is understandably shaken but okay.

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)






Officials agreed to shorten the session to fifteen minutes after the delay, which saw much quicker times than this morning’s session being posted.
With only five minutes remaining, Jordan put in a time of 1.31.988 good enough for first place.

Jason Plato followed alongside team mate Sam Tordoff, which Gordon Shedden and Colin Turkington completing the top five.

Having not been able to set a time in FP1, Frank Wrathall finished the second session in sixth, ahead of Tom Onslow-Cole and Adam Morgan. Despite his accident, Aron Smith’s best time set in the session’s opening stages was still good enough for ninth.

It was Rob Collard who this time rounded out the top ten, with the remaining championship contender Matt Neal only managing thirteenth in the second Honda Yuasa Racing Civic.

This morning’s leaders Dave Newsham and Ollie Jackson finished the session twelfth and eighteenth respectively, whilst Jake Hill finished fifteenth in the Exocet Racing Audi.

Shaun Hollamby – returning to the driver’s seat this weekend – was unable to set a time due to a mechanical issue on the AmD Tuning Golf.

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)





FP2 Classification:

1) Andrew Jordan
2) Jason Plato
3) Sam Tordoff
4) Gordon Shedden
5) Colin Turkington
6) Frank Wrathall
7) Tom Onslow-Cole
8) Adam Morgan
9) Aron Smith
10) Rob Collard
11) Rob Austin
12) Dave Newsham
13) Matt Neal
14) Warren Scott
15) Jake Hill
16) Mat Jackson
17) Nick Foster
18) Ollie Jackson
19) Jack Goff
20) Dan Welch
21) Lea Wood
22) Liam Griffin
23) Tom Barley
24) Aiden Moffat
25) Shaun Hollamby        By Nikki Thompson – Photos by Marc Waller

Written by