Trackspeed take their first win of the year in British GT race one at Snetterton

Race Start (photo by Marc Waller)Jon Minshaw and Phil Keen of Trackspeed have taken the first Porsche victory of 2014 in race one at the British GT Championship here at Snetterton.

They narrowly won from Pole sitters Marco Attard and Johnny Cocker in their Ecurie Ecosse BMW Z4. Third was the Triple Eight BMW Z4 of Derek Johnston and Luke Hines with their team mates, Lee Mowle and Joe Osbourne just behind in fourth.

Race winners (photo by Marc Waller)Runners up (photo by Marc Waller)Third (photo by Marc Waller)Podium (photo by Marc Waller)The Ecurie Ecosse car had lead early on in the race but was leap frogged in the pitstops. Despite a late charge they were unable to retake the lead before the flag. At the same time the two Triple Eight cars were racing each other for the final podium spot. Mark Poole and Richard Abra took the Mp Motorsport Aston to fifth with the Kinfaun Aston of Phil Dryburgh and John gaw completing the top six.

GT4 was less close but still quite tight with Gavan Kershaw and Oz Yusuf winning in the Issy racing Lotus Evora by three and half seconds from the Beachdean junior team Aston of Jake Giddings and Ross Wylie. Rick Parfitt Jr and Tom Oliphant who had been early GT4 leaders after passing the Lotus in the early stages, were eventually third in their Century Motorsport Ginetta G55. Jade Edwards and Matt Draper had technical problems with their Ginetta, starting from the pitlane and eventually stopping in the pitlane although they completed enough laps to be classified as finishers albeit in last place.

Full results are available through TSL Timing;

Race two gets underway at 16:25.  By Marc Waller

GT4 winners (photo by Marc Waller) GT4 runners up (photo by Marc Waller) GT4 Third (photo by Marc Waller) GT4 Podium (photo by Marc Waller)

Written by