Josh Brookes takes BSB Crown

BSB BrandsHatch (photo by BSB)

BSB BrandsHatch (photo by BSB)Josh Brookes celebrated his first MCE Insurance British Superbike crown with victory in the first of Sunday’s two races at Brands Hatch

but as the Australian bid to complete a hat trick he crashed out of the race as he battled for the perfect end to his title-winning campaign.

The Milwaukee Yamaha rider had clinched the crown in yesterday’s opening race as he headed off the challenges of defending four-time title-winner Shane “Shakey” Byrne and then the pair repeated the battle for the race two win with Brookes again emerging victorious.

Michael Laverty took his second podium of the season on the Tyco BMW in race two as he held off American John Hopkins on the Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati and James Ellison riding the JG Speedfit Kawasaki.

In the final race of the season Byrne was determined to finish his campaign on a high and he made a strong start to hit the front of the pack from Hopkins and Ellison, whilst Brookes was back in sixth place but fighting back.

BSB BrandsHatch (photo by BSB)An epic tussle for the win saw Hopkins, Byrne, Ellison and Laverty all hit the front of the field during the 20 lap race. Byrne seized the initial advantage but his rivals were piling on the pressure with Ellison hitting the front on the fourth lap, but the PBM Kawasaki instantly retaliated to regain the position.

Laverty then made some decisive moves that put him at the front and he was holding off Brookes, Byrne and Ellison. However as Brookes challenged for the lead, the Australian crashed out at Graham Hill Bend unhurt, ending his chance of adding to his run of seven consecutive race wins.

Laverty was then left to fight off the attack from Ellison to sign off the season with his first victory for the Tyco BMW team, leaving Byrne having to settle for third ahead of Honda Racing’s Dan Linfoot and Christian Iddon on the Bennetts Suzuki.


Race one (Saturday):
1: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha)
2: Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +2.583s
3: John Hopkins (Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati) +2.746s
4: Christian Iddon (Bennetts Suzuki) +4.033s
5: Lee Jackson (Buildbase BMW) +8.047s
6: James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +8.993s

Race two (Sunday):
1: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha)
2: Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +3.842s
3: Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW) +7.767s
4: John Hopkins (Lloyds British Moto Rapido Ducati) +7.882s
5: James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +8.174s
6: Lee Jackson (Buildbase BMW) +8.237s

Race three (Sunday):
1: Michael Laverty (Tyco BMW)
2: James Ellison (JG Speedfit Kawasaki) +0.237s
3: Shane Byrne (PBM Kawasaki) +0.419s
4: Dan Linfoot (Honda Racing) +2.087s
5: Christian Iddon (Bennetts Suzuki) +2.547s
6: Luke Mossey (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +2.710s

Written by