MG dominate BTCC race one at Oulton park

Podium (photo by Marc Waller)Jason Plato led his MG KX Momentum team mate Sam Tordoff home to a comfortable One-Two finish in race one at Oulton Park.

Behind them, Gordon Shedden was comfortably in third ahead of a smoking Andrew Jordan, who managed to keep his stricken car in fourth for the entire race despite large amounts of smoke spewing out the rear.
He managed to hold off a determined challenge from Ebay Motors Colin Turkington in his BMW 1 series. Behind the top five there were battles all through the field with Matt Neal fighting his way up to sixth. Mat Jackson also improved his starting position with seventh but the loser in all this battling was Dave Newsham whose Speedworks Toyota Avensis was elbowed down to eighth by the end after starting fourth. Another driver to lose out from the battling was Tom Onslow Cole. He was battling with Rob Collard when he lost control and spun off, he recovered but finished all the way down in fifteenth. Adam Morgan finished where he started taking ninth place after fighting with Rob Collard for most of the race. Rob lost out by 0.033 at the line and had to settle for tenth although this was still a big improvement from his starting position of sixteenth.

BTCC action at Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action at Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action at Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller)In the Jack Sears Trophy, Liam Griffin took the win in his Addison Lee ford Focus beating class pole sitter Lea Wood’s Vauxhall Vectra. Aaron Mason took third in class for AMD Tuning on his BTCC debut. Griffin’s victory puts him in a clear lead in the trophy after previously sharing the lead with Lea Wood.

2013 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Oulton Park – Race 1
1 Jason Plato (MG KX Momentum Racing) 15 Laps
2 Sam Tordoff (MG KX Momentum Racing) +1.107
3 Gordon Shedden (Honda Yuasa Racing) +3.167
4 Andrew Jordan (Pirtek Racing) +4.104
5 Colin Turkington (eBay Motors) +4.563
6 Matt Neal (Honda Yuasa Racing) +10.946
7 Mat Jackson (Airwaves Racing) +11.551
8 Dave Newsham (Speedworks Motorsport) +15.381
9 Adam Morgan (Ciceley Racing) +23.909
10 Robert Collard (eBay Motors) +23.942
11 Jeff Smith (Pirtek Racing) +24.308
12 Nick Foster (eBay Motors) +29.815
13 Rob Austin (WIX Racing) +31.869
14 Daniel Welch (Welch Motorsport with Sopp + Sopp) +32.030
15 Tom Onslow-Cole (PPCGB/Kraftwerk Racing) +33.044
16 Jack Goff (RCIB Insurance Racing) +36.220
17 Will Bratt (Rob Austin Racing) +36.608
18 James Cole (RCIB Insurance Racing) +37.550
19 Liam Griffin (Addison Lee Motorbase) +44.170
20 Lea Wood (Wheel Heaven / Houseman Racing) +44.297
21 Aaron Mason ( +51.291
22 David Nye (Welch Motorsport with Sopp + Sopp) +54.394
23 Frank Wrathall (Dynojet) +1 Lap
24 Ollie Jackson (Speedworks Motorsport) +2 Laps

Not Classified
– Aron Smith (Airwaves Racing) +10 Laps
– Warren Scott (Team BMR Restart) +13 Laps
STOP PRESS As this report was finished, news came through that Liam Griffin had his win taken away from him after he was judged to have gained the win from Lea Wood after taking an unfair advantage. This was done by means of a 1 second penalty added to Griffin’s race time.Lea Wood takes over the win and with it the Jack Sears Trophy lead. By Marc Waller

Written by