Plato makes it a BTCC two out of two at Oulton Park

Podium (photo by Marc Waller)Jason Plato again dominated in race two at Oulton Park but things did not all go MG’s way this time.

After initially slotting into second behind his team mate, Sam Tordoff found himself slipping down the field as the race went on before a puncture finally put him out of contention. He was left to finish down in 21st second to last of the finishers.

Gordon Shedden was again the man to take the fight to the MG’s but he wasn’t able to keep with Plato and Shedden was over 2.6 seconds off the lead by the chequered flag. Behind him there was a tough battle for the final podium slot which was finally won by Colin Turkington taking ebay Motors first podium of the day. This also secured him the independent teams victory with race one independent winner Andrew Jordan behind him in fifth overall. Matt Neal went two better this time with a fourth place finish although he was 2.3 seconds behind Turkington by the flag, the Ebay dirver having made a break for it once he was clear of the battle.

Dave Newsham won the Toyota Avensis battle taking a sixth place in front of Adam Morgan. Rob Austin took a fighting eighth place just ahead of Daniel Welch in the Proton Gen-2. Jeff Smith in the Pirtek racing Honda Civic took the final slot in the top ten and this gave him race three pole after the draw for the reverse grid was made.

BTCC action Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action Oulton Park (photo by Marc Waller)Lea Wood took the Jack Sears Trophy win again and as this time as it was on the track rather than from a stewards decision, he got to celebrate on the podium.

Aaron Mason had no luck at all though in the AMD Tuning VW Golf. His engine failed during the race leaving him stranded on track and even worse putting him out of race three.

2013 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Oulton Park – Race 2
1 Jason Plato (MG KX Momentum Racing) 17 Laps
2 Gordon Shedden (Honda Yuasa Racing) +2.691
3 Colin Turkington (eBay Motors) +3.285
4 Matt Neal (Honda Yuasa Racing) +5.591
5 Andrew Jordan (Pirtek Racing) +9.354
6 Dave Newsham (Speedworks Motorsport) +10.326
7 Adam Morgan (Ciceley Racing) +10.849
8 Rob Austin (WIX Racing) +13.396
9 Daniel Welch (Welch Motorsport with Sopp + Sopp) +16.078
10 Jeff Smith (Pirtek Racing) +16.270
11 Tom Onslow-Cole (PPCGB/Kraftwerk Racing) +17.222
12 Frank Wrathall (Dynojet) +18.733
13 Will Bratt (Rob Austin Racing) +22.368
14 Aron Smith (Airwaves Racing) +22.913
15 Nick Foster (eBay Motors) +30.994
16 Ollie Jackson (Speedworks Motorsport) +31.633
17 James Cole (RCIB Insurance Racing) +32.595
18 Lea Wood (Wheel Heaven / Houseman Racing) +33.833
19 Liam Griffin (Addison Lee Motorbase) +35.787
20 Mat Jackson (Airwaves Racing) +45.237
21 Sam Tordoff (MG KX Momentum Racing) +1:00.564
22 David Nye (Welch Motorsport with Sopp + Sopp) +1:20.279

Not Classified
– Robert Collard (eBay Motors) +6 laps
– Aaron Mason ( +11 laps
– Jack Goff (RCIB Insurance Racing) +16 laps    By Marc Waller

Written by