Marquez grabs another MotoGP record with Laguna win

Track action (photo by MotoGP)Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez claimed a brilliant victory at the Red Bull Grand Prix at the Laguna Seca circuit,

and grabbed yet another record, the youngest rider to win back-back wins since Freddie Spencer in 1983 all in Marquez debut year. LCR Honda’s Stefan Bradl achieved his first podium finish in the premier class after taking second, the German had led from the start before Marquez overtook. Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi took third.

GO&FUN Honda Gresini’s Alvaro Bautista had to settle for fourth after being unable to pass Rossi, in fifth Repsol Honda rider Dani Pedrosa struggled through the pain barrier after injuring his collarbone. Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo followed on behind his compatriot. Monster Yamaha Tech3’s Cal Crutchlow crossed the finish line in seventh. After a race long battle, the Ducati battle was won by home rider Nicky Hayden with Andrea Dovizioso not far behind. Rounding out the top ten and taking the CRT honours was Blusens Hector Barbera.

Championship Standings as follows –
Marc Marquez – 163 Points
Dani Pedrosa – 147 Points
Jorge Lorenzo – 137 Points  By Laura Turner

Written by