BTCC: Tordoff victory with second MG 1-2 at Donington

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)Sam Tordoff leads team mate Jason Plato with a second MG 1-2 in the second dramatic Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship race of the day at Donington Park.

Gordon Shedden claimed third ahead of Andrew Jordan who made a mistake in the latter stages of the race costing him the place. The Pirtek racer recovered to finish fourth ahead of Matt Neal and Colin Turkington.

Airwaves’ Mat Jackson made up a number of places during the second incident packed race to finish seventh, with Smith, Newsham and Ingram rounding out the top ten.

A rain shower had led to treacherous conditions with the safety car being called on track for two prolonged periods.

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)The first was after a number of drivers got caught out, including Alain Menu who spun his Chrome Edition Volkswagen coming out of the Old Hairpin. He was lucky not to collect anyone as he made his way back across the track before continuing with the race.

As Chris Stockton and Rob Austin took a trip across the gravel, the safety car was called out for a second time after a heavy incident between United Autosport’s James Cole and the Audi S3 of Robb Holland.

Both drivers made contact and were forced to retire from the race having hit the concrete wall coming out of Redgate. Both cars suffered badly, with Cole confirming his Toyota Avensis would not be ready for the third race; however the two drivers were unharmed.

BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)BTCC action (photo by Marc Waller)As the drivers prepared to get underway, Ollie Jackson – who’s Proton had stopped on track due to mechanical issues – had attempted to get the car back to the pits however was stranded at the chicane. This resulted in the safety car doing another lap while the recovery vehicle removed it to safety.

A number of drivers were caught out at the Old Hairpin as the race was underway, including Abbott, Hynes and Depper who all suffered spins.

Tom Ingram drew out number six for the reverse grid draw, which leaves Colin Turkington on pole for the race, which gets underway at 17:15.

Race Two Classification:
1) Sam Tordoff
2) Jason Plato
3) Gordon Shedden
4) Andrew Jordan
5) Matt Neal
6) Colin Turkington
7) Mat Jackson
8) Aron Smith
9) Dave Newsham
10) Tom Ingram
Fastest Lap: Andrew Jordan – Lap 6 – 1:20:274  By Nikki Thompson  photos by  Marc Waller


Written by