Kiyonari bounces back from a heavy crash in BSB qualifying

Ryuichi Kiyonari (photo by Double Red)Ryuichi Kiyonari bounced back from a heavy crash in qualifying to claim the opening victory at the Oulton Park triple-header round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship by just 0.496s from Josh Brookes.


The Japanese rider quickly charged into contention despite starting from the fourth row of the grid, making decisive moves on his rivals to carve his way up the order. At the front Brookes and Shane ‘Shakey’ Byrne had been battling hard for the lead, swapping positions in their quest for victory. However the pair then came under fire from the Japanese ace who first mugged Byrne for second and then stormed ahead of Brookes for the lead.

Milwaukee Yamaha’s Brookes took some consolation for his second place as his fastest lap in the race gives him the pole position start for the first of the two Sunday races at the Cheshire circuit.

Kiyonari, now back in content to challenge for a record fourth crown, said: “I made a big mistake in qualifying. I had a crash and it gave the team a lot of work to fix the bike. This victory is very important for me and I am very happy, but after that race I want to go back to my hotel and sleep!”

Brookes who is bidding to close down Byrne in the standings explained: “I made a mistake in the middle part of the race but I still maintained the gap, but then Kiyo came flying passed me! It was not good enough from me today but I will work harder and try and change that tomorrow.”

Tommy Bridewell took fourth on the second Milwaukee Yamaha ahead of Quattro Plant Kawasaki’s Dan Linfoot and former MotoGP rider John Hopkins on the Tyco Suzuki.


Race one:
1: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW)
2: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) +0.496s
3: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) +2.011s
4: Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +4.362s
5: Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) +5.981s
6: John Hopkins (Tyco Suzuki) +7.149s

Championship standings:
1: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 277
2: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 199
3: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) 164
4: Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) 127
5: Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) 125
6: James Ellison (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) 124

Written by