Shane Byrne on BSB pole

Track action (photo by London Bikers)Shane “Shakey” Byrne smashed the Cadwell Park lap record to put his Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki onto pole position for the eighth round of the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship.

The series leader bounced back after a crash this morning at Hall Bends with an inch-perfect lap of the 2.18-miles Lincolnshire circuit in a time of 1m 26.0017s, over half a second inside the record.

Byrne, after powering in his fifth pole start of the campaign, said: “I saw from my pit-board I had 0.9s in front of everyone and was faster than I had been all weekend so I was very happy. But, good as pole is, it is the races that are the more important.”

Byrne is aiming to end a run of seven races without a win but despite his speed in qualifying knows that he will have a fight on his hands as Ryuichi Kiyonari, also chasing a record fourth title, starts his Buildbase BMW alongside him on a front row. Milwaukee Yamaha’s Tommy Bridewell completes the front row as he scored his first top three qualifying result of the season.

Chris Walker heads the second row on the lone Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki, with local rider Peter Hickman fifth fastest on the RAF Reserves Honda at his home round just ahead of Aussie Josh Waters riding for Tyco Suzuki.

Jon Kirkham (Halsall Bike Gear Kawasaki) John Hopkins (Tyco Suzuki) and Dan Linfoot (Quattro Plant Kawasaki) start from the third row with title-chasing Josh Brookes frustrated as he starts from tenth place on the grid after a problem spoiled his challenge in the third element of the qualifying session.

James Ellison has decided to withdraw for the remainder of the event despite his heroic attempt to return to racing from his Brands Hatch injury. He now looks ahead to Donington Park and his hopes of securing a Showdown position.


Datatag Extreme Qualifying:
1: Shane Byrne (Rapid Solicitors Kawasaki) 1m:26.017s
2: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +0.904s
3: Tommy Bridewell (Milwaukee Yamaha) +1.664s
4: Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +1.700s
5: Peter Hickman (RAF Reserves Honda) +1.754s
6: Josh Waters (Tyco Suzuki) +1.960s

Written by