Morgan heads a mixed up and wet BTCC first practice at Silverstone

Great session for Matt Simpson (photo by Marc Waller)

Great session for Matt Simpson (photo by Marc Waller)Adam Morgan is the early pace setter at Silverstone to the BTCC first practice session although the unexpectedly wet conditions saw several drivers spending more time in the pits than the track.

It’s not expected to be wet for the rest of the weekend so they saw no benefit in risking their car in conditions which shouldn’t be repeated.

With the rain falling on and off during the session, the fastest times were set at the start of the session and once Morgan was on top of the timing screens he wasn’t headed again.

Behind him, the standings took a very unexpected appearance with Ollie Jackson of AMD Tuning taking his best ever position from any session of second. Even he was over eight tenths of a second off of Morgan’s quick time.

Matt Jackson was third, despite doing barely any running and behind him in fourth was another of the unexpected runners as Matt Simpson took his best position. Jake Hill was fifth in his RCIB Toyota Avensis ahead of Tom Ingram in the Speedworks Toyota. Seventh was Stewart Lines, another driver having his best ever session.

Rob Austin and Matt Neal completed the very unusual looking top ten.

The fact that over ten seconds separate the entire field on such a short circuit suggests that things will look very different in the drier conditions later on.

Unexpected second for Jackson (photo by Marc Waller) Morgan took advantage of the brief dry spell at the start (photo by Marc Waller) Mat Jackson took third despite spending a lot of time here- His car has a new livery this weekend (photo by Marc Waller) Lines is not normally seen in the top ten (photo by Marc Waller)




1 Adam MORGAN (GBR) WIX Racing 1m03.540s (92.94 mph)
2 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD +0.822s
3 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance +1.365s
4 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +1.563s
5 Jake HILL (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +1.572s
6 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +1.812s
7 Stewart LINES (GBR) Maximum Motorsport +1.921s
8 Ash SUTTON (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +2.175s
9 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +2.406s
10 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +2.555s
11 Josh COOK (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +2.564s
12 Hunter ABBOTT (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +2.653s
13 Warren SCOTT (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +2.744s
14 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +2.874s
15 Aron SMITH (IRL) BKR +2.903s
16 Michael EPPS (GBR) RCIB Insurance Racing +2.920s
17 Dan WELCH (GBR) Goodestone Racing +2.923s
18 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Eurotech Racing +2.928s
19 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +2.968s
20 Jack GOFF (GBR) Team IHG Rewards Club +2.996s
21 Robert COLLARD (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +3.007s
22 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +3.010s
23 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +3.039s
24 James COLE (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +3.314s
25 Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +3.512s
26 Mark HOWARD (GBR) BKR +3.666s
27 Kelvin FLETCHER (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +3.940s
28 Tony GILHAM (GBR) TLC/RCIB Insurance Racing +4.462s
29 Alex MARTIN (GBR) Dextra Racing +4.708s
30 Jason PLATO (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +7.208s
31 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) Motorbase Performance +10.156s By Marc Waller


Written by