Shedden leads Neal in a Honda 1-2 for BTCC race three at Oulton

Jordan was leading as they finished lap one (Photo by Marc Waller)Halfords Yuasa racing ended their weekend with a one-two result in the final BTCC race of the day at Oulton as Gordon Shedden lead Matt Neal across the line.

But it was far from a straight forward victory however especially after Shedden made contact with then leader Josh Cook who had started from pole.

The contact broke Cook’s rear suspension and the incident is likely to be looked into by stewards.

At that point Andrew Jordan was already leading having passed Cook off the line. Jordan had built up a bit of a gap with the battles between Shedden and Cook slowing their pace but a safety car period allowed the Hondas to close once more.

The safety car had been scrambled due to a clash between Aiden Moffat and Dave Newsham that saw the former’s Laser Tools Racing Mercedes crash heavily in the tyre wall.

Once the safety car came in, Shedden wasted no time in passing Jordan as he shot past Jordan at Cascades. Neal then also struck while the Pirtek Racing driver was unsettled, demoting him to third at the hairpin.

Ashley Sutton had another strong race to fourth, holding back Turkington and Collard’s BMW throughout the race. Turkington had a difficult day after retiring from race one with electrical issues. He’d moved up to thirteenth in race one before racing up to fifth in this race.

Behind the two BMWs came Handy Motorsport’s Rob Austin. He was also the independent winner with all other drivers head of him driving for manufacturer backed teams. He’d been battling with Jake Hill all day but this time had Mike Epps behind him as well as Hill with the two VWs taking Eighth and ninth. Tenth was Luke Davenport for Shredded Wheat racing. It was his best ever result but it also won him the Jack Sears Trophy for Rookie drivers for the weekend.

Adam Morgan was missing from this race as his team were unable to fix the fire damaged Mercedes in time.

After another disastrous race Tom Ingram where he finished out of the points, his nightmare weekend means he now drops to third in the drivers championship with Shedden taking the lead ahead of Collard. Turkington is fourth, with Matt Neal fifth and Ashley Sutton now up to sixth.

Ingram still leads the independents trophy from Jack Goff and Adam Morgan. Ingram was helped by neither of his rivals having very strong weekends with Morgan failing to score in any of the days races.

BMW lead the manufacturers from Honda and Subaru but in the teams championship the situation is reversed with Honda leading from BMW and Subaru.

Speedworks lead the independent teams championship from Eurotech and Ciceley.

The two Hondas put Cook under pressure (Photo by Marc Waller) Honda celebrate their one -two (Photo by Marc Waller) Shedden takes the flag (Photo by Marc Waller) Shedden punches the air (Photo by Marc Waller) Champagne battle on a very full podium (Photo by Marc Waller)




Finally Senna Proctor leads the Jack Sears trophy for rookies from Josh Price and Luke Davenport.

2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Round 12 – Oulton Park
1 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +18 laps
2 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.279s
3 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +1.722s
4 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +4.272s
5 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +4.375s
6 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +4.590s
7 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +5.509s
8 Michael EPPS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +7.045s
9 Jake HILL (GBR) TAG Racing +8.418s
10 Luke DAVENPORT (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +8.736s
11 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +9.077s
12 Daniel LLOYD (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +9.414s
13 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +9.789s
14 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +10.248s
15 Jack GOFF (GBR) Eurotech Racing +10.605s
16 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +11.412s
17 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +12.041s
18 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +12.099s
19 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +12.505s
20 Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +13.958s
21 Ant WHORTON-EALES (GBR) with Cobra Exhausts +15.882s
22 Will BURNS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +16.766s
23 Martin DEPPER (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +19.397s
24 Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +19.419s
25 Aron TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +27.750s
26 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +33.920s
27 Josh PRICE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +1 lap
NC James COLE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +5 laps
DNF Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +11 laps
DNF Josh COOK (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +15 laps
DNF Mat JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo
DNS Adam MORGAN (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport By Marc Waller

Written by