Brookes takes BSB pole at Brands Hatch

Track action (photo by Double Red)Josh Brookes claimed his first MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship pole position with Milwaukee Yamaha at Brands Hatch today

with a bullish performance as he bounced back from three crashes to snatch the top spot from triple champion Ryuichi Kiyonari ahead of tomorrow’s two races.

The Aussie escaped unscathed after crashing three times during a wet and frantic Datatag Extreme qualifying session which caught out a number of riders, including local favourite and three times former champion Shane Byrne who will start from the fifth row of the grid for the opening race.

Brookes crashed out in the first part of qualifying, but he made it back to his pit garage for the team to repair his Milwaukee Yamaha. However within minutes of returning to the action, he was dramatically down again, but the team repaired the bike and he was soon back on circuit.

Track action (photo by Double Red)Track action (photo by Double Red)Their efforts were rewarded by Brookes who bounced back superbly, putting in a lap to take the 20th pole start of his MCE BSB career, only to high-side off moments later and he reflected: “Three crashes, but I still have pole position. It was so slippery out there and I guess I’ve had the highs and the lows. It was heart in the mouth stuff but we will be ready for the races tomorrow.”

Starting alongside Brookes is Japanese rider Ryuichi Kiyonari who makes his debut with Buildbase BMW. He was denied his first pole start in four years by a split second while on a fully International front row American John Hopkins set the third best time on his debut with Tyco Suzuki.

Chris Walker on the Lloyds British GBmoto Kawasaki, James Westmoreland on the second Buildbase BMW and Richard Cooper on the Anvil Hire TAG Racing Kawasaki start from the second row ahead of Gearlink Kawasaki’s Ben Wilson, Bathams BMW’s Michael Rutter and Keith Farmer on the PR Racing Kawasaki.


Datatag Extreme qualifying:
1: Josh Brookes (Milwaukee Yamaha) 55.093s
2: Ryuichi Kiyonari (Buildbase BMW) +0.703s
3: John Hopkins (Tyco Suzuki) +1.055s
4: Chris Walker (Lloyds British GBmoto Racing Kawasaki) +1.160s
5: James Westmoreland (Buildbase BMW) +1.204s
6: Richard Cooper (Anvil Hire TAG Kawasaki) +1.322s
7: Ben Wilson (Gearlink Kawasaki) +1.843s
8: Michael Rutter (Bathams BMW) +1.897s
9: Keith Farmer (PR Racing Kawasaki) +2.841s
10: Patric Muff (Bathams BMW)

Written by