Muller and Lopez share WTCC victories in Belgium

Track action (photo by WTCC)The Citroën team do not release their hold on the 2014 World Touring Car Championship.

The Belgian weekend that opened the second part of the season saw the French cars claiming two more victories. The wonder trio of Yvan Muller, José María López and Sébastien Loeb finished again 1-2-3 in Race 1 bidding the rest of the field farewell from the first turn.

The second race was just a bit tougher for them, as they started from eighth, ninth and tenth on the reversed grid. However, López and Muller completed another great recovery to claim first and second, while Loeb had to settle in fifth as he could not pass Tom Coronel and Tiago Monteiro who were classified in third and fourth.

Franz Engstler continued to reign on the TC2 class, with two new wins.

With the weekend’s results, López allowed Muller to recover only two points in the Drivers’ Championship and the Argentine still leads by 39.

The championship will resume after a five-week break at Termas de Río Hondo, Argentina, on August 3, for rounds 15 and 16.

Yvan Muller took another commanding win in the first of the Spa races today. He beat team mates Loeb and López to the La Source hairpin at the start and never quite looked back. The only change in position at the front came when López outbraked Loeb at the end of the straight on the final lap.

With three Citroën cars filling the podium, Morbidelli led home the rest of the field ahead of Coronel, who passed works Honda driver Monteiro on the finish line. Franz Engstler, as usual, won the TC2T class from Filippi and newcomer Nagy.

There was no stopping WTCC points leader José María López in the 14th round of this year’s championship.

The Argentine driver used the superior speed of his Citroën C-Elysée to pick off his opponents one by one, usually hunting them down at speed through the back straight and the Blanchimont corners before going for the kill in the braking zone for the Bus Stop chicane.

Only Chevrolet privateer Tom Coronel, who had led from the start, resisted Lopez initially before being demoted anyway on the Raidillon.

Yvan Muller brought his Citroën home in second, while Coronel still salvaged a second podium finish of the season from Tiago Monteiro and Sébastien Loeb.

Franz Engstler scored his 11th win from 13 starts in TC2.

Written by