BTCC – Turkington takes the race two win at Donington

First lap (photo by Marc Waller)It was a BMR VW CC and a Honda Civic finishing at the front once again for the second race of the BTCC at Donington Park but this time it was Colin Turkington that took the win from Gordon Shedden.

This year’s BTCC is so far appearing to be one of the most competitive ever with Turkington now making it five different winners in five races. He led almost all the race having overtaken Shedden on the first lap. After that Turkington just drove away from the field.

Shedden on the other hand fell down the order and ended up fourteenth.

The battle for second place proved to be fierce with several drivers fighting over the position. The final move that decided things came on lap fourteen when Matt Neal and Andrew Jordan went side by side into the final chicane. Jordan won the battle between those two as Morgan ran across the grass but Matt Neal was there two and although initially Matt Neal held Jordan off, Neal dived down the inside at Redgate to take second place. Morgan then saw his chance and went side by side with Jordan down the Craner curves sending Jordan across the grass this time. This gave Morgan his podium. Jordan managed to get back on quickly enough to hang onto fourth from Jason Plato in fifth.

Turkington was on his own (photo by Marc Waller)Martin and Scott go flying off the track after their clash (photo by Marc Waller)Lap two and things are close (photo by Marc Waller)Goff and Morgan clash in the early stages (photo by Marc Waller)Cook and Collard crossed the line almost as one (photo by Marc Waller)Turkington celebrates (photo by Marc Waller)Podium (photo by Marc Waller)Josh Cook and Rob Collard fought for sixth right to the flag with Collard taking it from Cook by nine thousandths of a second. Behind them in eighth was Jack Goff who has been consistent today without getting any big results so far. The BMW team mates Sam Tordoff and Andy Priaulx completed the top ten.

The remaining points finishers were then, Newsham, Aron Smith, Tom Ingram, Gordon Shedden and Jeff Smith.

Derek Palmer’s infiniti and Andy Wilmot’s Proton both failed to start and Dan Welch and Mike Bushell had mechanical trouble during the race. Warren Scott was the only driver to crash out after he was hit from behind at the old hairpin by Alex Martin. Martin bounced through the gravel and continued albeit with a bent bonnet but Warren Scott was out. Scott’s demise scrambled the only safety car of the race but with the incident coming so close to the start it had little effect on the results.

The reverse grid was drawn after the race and this saw Josh Cook drawn on pole from Rob Collard. The second row is Jason Plato and Andrew Jordan with Adam Morgan and Matt Neal completing the first three rows.

Full results are on TSL timing as usual. By Marc Waller

Written by