Turkington wins race three to score BMWs 100th BTCC win

Turkington rockets off the line at the start (Photo by Marc Waller)Colin Turkington has taken BMW’s second win of the day at Thruxton in race three. The win is BMW’s one hundredth victory in the history of the BTCC.

Turkington had been drawn in the reverse grid pole position and never looked like being challenged in a lights to flag victory with a winning margin of nearly three seconds.

The Ulsterman was helped by his rivals fighting for position behind with Rob Austin, who started second, coming immediate attack from Tom Ingram, Jack Goff and Gordon Shedden. Goff was first past Austin on the opening lap but within a couple of laps was passed himself by Ingram. Goff was clearly determined to take another podium after this third in race one and he held off Shedden who had made it past Austin, demoting the Handy Motorsport driver to fifth.

Austin managed to prevent further positions slipping away and he crossed the line in fifth place. Ashley Sutton completed a strong weekend in his Subaru taking sixth, once again the only Subaru on the pace. Sutton made a great pass on race two winner Collard who managed to hang onto seventh despite carrying some success ballast.

Moffat and Morgan were again racing together with the two Mercedes finishing eighth and ninth respectively.

Matt Neal took a great tenth place. While tenth may not usually sound like a great finishing spot for the Honda driver, he started this race from the back after his race two problems.

Tom Chilton scored more points for Vauxhall in eleventh with Dave Newsham taking his BTC Norlin Chevrolet to points in twelfth. Thirteenth was Andrew Jordan, the Pirtek backed driver not able to match the pace of his BMW team mates. Mat Jackson scored some welcome points for Motorbase with Jake Hill taking the final point for Tag Racing.

This weekend’s results sees Tom Ingram still leading the championship from Gordon Shedden. Senna Proctor is in front in the Jack Sears trophy for Rookie drivers having won it at every round so far.

The championships next rounds are at Oulton Park in two weeks time.

Shedden Presures Austin (Photo by Marc Waller) Jason Plato spent another weekend off the pace (Photo by Marc Waller) It was Goff initially behind Turkington before Ingram found a way past Goff (Photo by Marc Waller) Ingram had another strong weekend (Photo by Marc Waller) The top three plus Jack sears trophy winner Proctor (Photo by Marc Waller) Ingram leaves Thruxton as championship leader (Photo by Marc Waller)




In depth results and championship tables can be found at tsl-timing.com



2017 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Round 9 – Thruxton

1 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW 16 laps
2 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +2.576s
3 Jack GOFF (GBR) Eurotech Racing +4.081s
4 Gordon SHEDDEN (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +5.836s
5 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) Handy Motorsport +10.002s
6 Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +10.756s
7 Rob COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +11.732s
8 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +12.414s
9 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +12.989s
10 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +13.225s
11 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +13.694s
12 Dave NEWSHAM (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +14.616s
13 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +14.917s
14 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +17.474s
15 Jake HILL (GBR) TAG Racing +19.220s
16 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +20.962s
17 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmDtuning.com with Cobra Exhausts +21.430s
18 Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +21.647s
19 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed Racing +22.520s
20 Michael EPPS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +22.865s
21 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +26.224s
22 Josh COOK (GBR) Team Parker with Maximum Motorsport +26.275s
23 Will BURNS (GBR) Autoaid/RCIB Insurance Racing +32.973s
24 Josh PRICE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +34.599s
25 Aron TAYLOR-SMITH (IRL) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +41.519s
26 James COLE (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +42.960s
27 Jeff SMITH (GBR) Eurotech Racing +52.180s
28 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +2 laps
DNF Luke DAVENPORT (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Duo +10 laps
DNF Daniel LLOYD (GBR) MG Racing RCIB Insurance +15 laps  By Marc Waller 



Written by